National Track Cycling Championship

27-Jan-2018 17:17

70th Senior, 47th Junior & 33rd Sub-Junior National Track Cycling Championship organized by Cycling Federation of India  at Indira Gandhi Cycling Velodrom , New Delhi from 2nd to 6th January 2018. 600 Riders & Team Officials in Senior, Junior & Sub Junior boys & girl category participated in the Championship under the guidance of 30 Cycling Federation of India Technical Officials & The Chief Commissaire Mr. K Dattatraya , of Indian railway.

The championship was personally supervised by Sh. Onkar Singh , Secretary General, Cycling Federation Of India  & Asian Cycling Confederation, along with Mr.VN Singh, Assistant Secretary , Cycling Federation Of India & Race Director of the event .

It is pertinent to mention that the major contribution by Sh. Manjeet Singh GK , President, Delhi Sikh Gurudwara  Management  committee & Sr. Vice President of Cycling Federation of India , Who had extended lodging  & Boarding facilities at Guru Harkrishan Public School, India Gate for all the Participant and Team Official . Teams were also extended with Transportation facility from accommodation to the Race venue and back by the school authorities.

The championship was organized in befitting manner. 24 State & Department team took part in the championship. Every day event started at 09.30 Hrs. in the morning & concluded by 18.30 Hrs.  A great deal of contribution was extended by Administrator, Indira Gandhi Sports complex, Sh. Satyajit Sankrit, who had supported the event to make the event a grand success. All the teams were facilitated with rooms at Velodrom to keep their bicycles at Velodrom during the Championship. Lunch was arranged at Velodrom for all Participants & Team Official to keep the flow of event continue during the entire day.

Every day evening, Medal award ceremony was conducted by distinguish guest of honor from Sports Authority of India and Cycling Federation of India. The Championship was also supported by YES Bank which bore the cost of Medals & Trophy of the Championship.

A total of 15 National records were broken during the Championship. The Championship also marked with some outstanding Youth & Potential cyclist were spotted by Chief Coach during event.

The various Trophies in Elite, Junior & Sub junior Category was awarded to the following State / Department / Teams.

Details of Championship 70 NTCC
1 Over All Winner     Maharashtra     72 6 7 7
  Runner Kerala 58 3 8 7
2 Men Elite Winner SSCB 46 6 1 3
  Runner RSPB 27 1 5 1
3 Women Elite Winner Kerala 33 2 4 3
  Runner RSPB 30 3 2 3
4 Junior Winner Maharashtra 45 4 4 4
  Runner Karnataka 27 3 1 3
5 Sub Junior Winner Manipur 43 5 3 1
  Runner A & N 18 1 2 1

Best Men       :  Ranjit Singh - SSCB - 12.5 Points    3 Gold
Best Women  :  Deborah - A & N - 15 Points    3 Gold