Cycling Federation of India announced the team for Commonwealth Games 2018

23-Feb-2018 22:37

Cycling Federation of India announced the 9 member (5 women , 4 men) Cycling team for Commonwealth Games 2018 to be held in Gold Coast, Australia. The team has been selected on the basis of the performance in the Asian Track Cycling Championship held at Nilai (Malaysia) from 16th to 21st February 2018 where Indian team won 4 medals including 3 gold and 1 bronze.

1.    Ms. Deborah – Sprint, Kerin, Individual Time Trial, Team Pursuit  
2.    Ms. Aleena Reji - Sprint, Individual Time Trial, Kerin
3.    Ms. M Sonali Chanu – Endurance Events, Team Pursuit
4.    Ms. T. Manorama Devi – Endurance Events, Team Pursuit 
5.    Ms. Amritha Reghunath - Team Pursuit, Point Race
6.    Mr.Ranjit Singh - Team Sprint, Indivial Time Trial  1000m
7.    Mr.Sahil Kumar - Team Sprint, Keirin 
8.    Mr.Sanuraj P - Team Sprint, Individual Sprint, Keirin 
9.    Mr.Manjeet Singh – Endurance events 

Mr. Onkar Singh, Secretary General of Cycling Federation of India said, “We have announced our best team for Commonwealth Games 2018 where we are expecting a good show from our cyclists.” We don’t have a good track record in Commonwealth Games so far but this year our cyclists are in good shape and they will give a good competition to the leading countries like England, Australia and others.

If everything goes as per our plan then Indian Women Cycling Team will be in medal tally, he added.

Report of 38thSenior, 25th Junior Asian Track Cycling Championship Nilai (Malaysia) held from 16th to 21st February 2018 at Nilai (Malaysia) where Indian team won 4 medals including 3 gold and 1 bronze.

The Indian Cycling team set the Track on fire during the 38thSenior, 25th Junior Asian Track Cycling Championship Nilai (Malaysia) held from 16th to 21st February 2018 by winning all the sprinting events in the Men Junior sections. 

The Indian Men Junior Cycling team comprising Mr. Esow of Andaman & Nicobar, Mr.Mayur Pawar of Maharashtra and Mr. James Singh of  Manipur created new continental cycling Track record in sprint event by clocking 46.070 sec.  as against 46.095 earlier created by Malaysian team and claiming the first Gold Medal of Asian Championship. 

The Junior out classed the Japan teaminthe final on the opening day of the event. Our young sensation Mr.Esow, who is just 17 years of age proved the dominance of sprinting event of Indian team by winning the other two sprinting events of Keirin and Individual sprint.

He not only created history with winning all three sprinting Olympic events but was the only male cyclist winning three Gold Medals in junior category. The Feat been achieved with Indian team showing complete dominance in the sprinting events in Asian continental Championships, which  reveals the future of India Cycling very promising.

Mr.Mayur Pawar was unfortunate when he crashed few meters from the finishing line and slipped to fourth place missing the Bronze medal.

Ms.Danamma from Karnataka also created history by winning first ever Bronze Medal in the endurance event of Point Race in Women Junior category.

The performance of few other junior cyclist Mr.Naman Kapil of Punjab, Ms. Mayuri Lute of Maharashtra, who missed a Medal by a whisker, was also commendable and all of them have a bright future.

The other encouragingfactor in the performance of the Indian team was that all the participants improved their personal timings and set new Nationalrecords in almost all the events.

All in all the Indian Cycling has came of age and islooking for bright future ahead and are sure to  performwell in the next Junior World  Championship at Aigle, Switzerland and thus paving way for qualification to Olympic Games in the year to come.

This all has been possible with commendable efforts of our coaching department under the patronage of  Mr. R K Sharma our Chief National Coach.

The Federation owes this immaculate performance   to the Sports Authority of India, who have been co-operating and supporting the plans of the Federation by the way of infrastructure, coaching Camps and equipment support. I extendmy gratitude to M/s Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. for supporting the cyclists under their CSR – Initiatives and recent performance would have not been possible without their support in terms of equipment and foreign exposure etc.